Style Guide – Mix and Match Magic!

As a fashion blogger I love trends and the latest fashion as much as the next fashionista (neon for summer, cute skull accessories and peplum? yes please!). But I would never wear all the latest trends in one go, or all the top designer brands in one outfit even if I had a highly disposable income or won the lottery. Mixing and matching all different things is lots of fun and can really step up an outfit to the next level; plus that feeling of scoring a totally adorable necklace for a few dollars at an op shop is a massive win!

I’ve put together an example outfit for this post of mixing and matching. Would you believe that I’m wearing designer, chain store, op-shop and discount store all in one outfit? Looks kinda cool hey. Can you guess what piece is from where? I’ll tell you at the end of this post.

If you’re like me and can’t afford lots of high end items its best to invest in basic pieces that will last you for years. That way that $300 dollar peplum top will not date in a season or two. Key pieces to invest in are a good trench or winter coat, a little black dress, a classic watch, white shirt, jeans, and a classic heels or boots. Only purchase these items in your size, if the cut is a knockout on you and in basic colours such as black, beige, taupe, white, and blue for jeans. That way they will also test the stand of time and mix and match with all your seasonal pieces. The only time you should make an exception to this rule is if the item looks amazing on you, is in your absolute favourite colour and you know you will get lots of wear out of over the years. Most high end in season items filter down into chain stores and you can get a replica at a bargain price.

Next tip – Don’t be a slave to fashion. Don’t wear the latest trends because they are the hottest thing. Wear what you love, what’s right for YOU and reflect what you love. That way you will love what you are wearing and look fabulous in it.

Mixing old and new is epic. It’s like you are giving another life to an item, It gets to be in the spotlight not once but twice. Mixing old pieces with new I think should be statement pieces or a complete classic. Vintage has a certain charm and charisma about it, you wouldn’t let Audrey Hepburn or Marilyn Monroe sit at the back would you now? (I definitely wouldn’t even if Lady Gaga and Katy Perry were at the show).

The easiest way to introduce a little of the latest trend into your wardrobe without breaking the bank is by accessorizing. you can take a classic shirt and jeans and completely change the look with the accessories, a bit like a vanilla cupcake but with pink frosting, sprinkles and a cherry on top or coated with a rich chocolate icing (I’m really craving cupcakes at the moment and listening to pop music, sorry for all the lame examples XD). There are millions of combinations and additions you can have with a great foundation. Like in my example I am wearing a denim dress which I can style up many different ways. Today I actually started of wearing a blue headband, hoop earring, different handbag and strappy shoes, but really I ended up feeling tickled pink!

Did you guess correctly? – The dress is from forever new (chain store), shoes from BigW (discount store), handbag is Guess (designer/chain), headband – Alannah Hill (designer), bow necklace – Goodwill (op shop)

I must admit my designer items are my “must have and will get lots of use out of” purchases 😛 :).

4 thoughts on “Style Guide – Mix and Match Magic!

  1. I have the same style bow shoes. And your bag is to die for! I want one. 😀

    Btw, I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster Blog Award. Please check out my site for the details. :*

    • Aww Thank you so much Michi I feel so special and honored that you nominated me ❤ 😀 –

      and yes I'm in love with the handbag too… there is something about Guess handbags that are amazing! – oooohhh I want to see your shoes! 😀 xox

Leave a Reply

