Sweet Strawberry Cupcakes!

 

I’ve noticed a mini theme going on here  – I’ve posted quite a bit of strawberry pictures and now I’m going to post a strawberry cupcake recipe! Yesterday I decided to bake cupcakes with strawberries in them to use up the ones I picked the other day. Apart from anything fashion related baking is one of my favourite things to do, I’ve made some pretty crazy things in the past! (blue fortune cookies, lollypop biscuits rainbow layer cake…) I know in the picture it doesnt quite have the height, I used really deep fancy patty pans I think I’ll go back to regular ones the shape comes out much better in them. Anyway here is the recipe!

Sweet Strawberry Cupcakes

You’ll need:

125g of butter

½ teaspoon of vanilla extract

2/3 cup of caster sugar

2 eggs

1 ¼ (185g) of self-raising flour

1/3 cup (80ml) of milk

6 big strawberries chopped

2 tablespoons of strawberry jam (if you don’t like really sweet cupcakes half this amount

 Method

1 – Preheat oven to 180c/160c fan forced. Line cupcake tray with 12 patty pans.

2 –Beat the butter, vanilla extract, strawberry jam, sugar and eggs in a small bowl with your electric mixer (or just in your mix master/ kitchen aid if you own one of these amazing mixers).

3- Stir in sifted flour and the milk in two batches. Add the chopped strawberries and stir until they are mixed through the batter.

4 – pour mixture into patty pans and put them in the oven. Bake for around 20 minutes or when a skewer is inserted it comes out clean, or they spring back when touched. (I usually use the latter just to be sure)

5 – turn out cakes onto a wire rack to cool. You can either decorate them with whatever takes your fancy or just leave them plain they taste amazing either way!

If you are going to decorate them you could:

–          Just plain coloured icing and sprinkles like I did

–          Chocolate icing – Yum I might do that next time

–          A butter based icing

–          Dust them with icing sugar

–          Turn them into fairy cakes with jam and cream (or just cream they don’t really need more jam!

5 thoughts on “Sweet Strawberry Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

